I once dinged an Ontario registered car for expired tags. An expired VA inspection sticker is illegal in every state and you can be given a ticket. Expired inspection ticket, more than 60 days expired, San Antonio, 26 replies Fine for expired registration sticker (but registration current), Florida, 7 replies Ticket for expired inspection sticker, Long Island, 19 replies Expired VA inspection sticker on car but live in PA now,, Pennsylvania, 23 replies State laws may vary on the specific issue of expired tags. Then it says to add $62 processing fee for the first summons ($11 for each additional). Just so, is there a grace period for expired inspection sticker in Va? Thatโ€™s a separate violation from driving without a proper inspection. From that date, you have 15 days to get the problem fixed and obtain a passing safety inspection. Driving a vehicle without an inspection sticker can often lead to being issued a ticket and paying a fine. In NYC, an expired inspection sticker will lead to a $65 parking ticket. In addition, in some states, you may be โ€ฆ The state of Virginia requires you get your car inspected every year and you have to have an updated sticker on your windshield. §1017.32 / §1055.4 Inspection/emission stickers (PA DOT) missing or expired §1017.32 / §1055.4 Counterfeited inspection sticker (PA DOT) §1017.33 / §1055.13 Failure to appear for Scheduled Inspection §1017.35 / §1055.15 Failure to submit to field inspection §1017.36 / §1055.16 Operating vehicle while out of service (w/notice for owner) The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles is again extending deadlines for expiring licenses, inspection stickers, plate registrations and other things due to the coronavirus crisis. You will receive multiple parking tickets for driving or parking with an expired inspection sticker. However, it could be that you received a "summons" (ticket) posted on your vehicle or front door by Code Enforcement. Always make sure your inspection is up to date. I was driving my boyfriends car and I got pulled over by the cop stating that he thought the inspection sticker looked suspicious. That VT inspection has long since expired but the sticker was never replaced. Also a vehicle can only be issued one rejection sticker annually. Welcome to the official site of the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, with quick access to driver and vehicle online transactions and information. Fines and penalties vary among states, according to CarInsurance.com. In the above photo you can see a the sticker has a monthly indicator of 3 (March) and a yearly indicator of 17 (2017). her boyfriend who is a mechanic was the one who obtained the sticker. Oh yes. Most police will not notice an out of date inspection from an out of state vehicle. Under normal circumstances, all Virginia-registered vehicles are required to bear a current Virginia inspection sticker. In Pennsylvania, inspection stickers expire on the last day of the month indicated by inspection sticker (i.e. Thanks! Expired Registration โ€“ If an officer pulls you over with expired tags or an expired inspection sticker, youโ€™ll receive a non-moving violation. My husband was in D.C. this week parked on the street and the traffic cop gave him a ticket for the expired Virginia inspection sticker. Whether your inspection sticker has already expired or is set to expire soon, please make plans now to get your inspection renewed and avoid a ticket. I will only be driving the car in VA. ALBANY โ€“ Driving with an expired vehicle inspection or registration in New York? The sticker is good up until the last day of that month. Police helicopter used to help track suspects to Arlington. Expired Inspection Sticker Leads to 27-Mile Police Pursuit - Dale City, VA - Driver refused to stop for state trooper in Dale City. They are looking for expired colors not numbers when you drive past them. Fines can vary in amount, such as $50 in Massachusetts. So I really need to appeal this because I will lose my liscense if I am issued another surchargeable offense just for helping someone who was in โ€ฆ Inspection Grace Period: There is a five (5) day grace period for motorists to get their inspection sticker. I was driving my ex's car, which had an expired inspection AND expired registration unbeknownst to me. The above stickers are valid up to the last day of March 2017. However, I would wager every state has a law that you need to have valid registration on your car, current tags fall under that. I agree with my peers response. I received a ticket (in my name, even though it was his car) for $110 for each infraction, total $220 + fees. Incredibly, we have read โ€ฆ If your motorcycle has failed a Virginia State Inspection you also have 15 days to complete repairs and re-inspect. In most states, driving with an expired inspection sticker is considered a traffic violation. If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100. But the VT inspection sticker is on the back of the rear view mirror. I was issued a citation for an expired inspection sticker while driving my landlordโ€™s car to pick up something at the store for her. I've moved from Virginia although my car is still registered there and the sticker is expired. Should you go past 15 days the re-inspection fee will be $12.00. If the inspection sticker has expired in the past 60 days, the owner can receive a fine of $25 to $50. If your vehicle is suspended for an expired inspection sticker, you will need to use the โ€œAlternate Inspection Approval Reportโ€ form. If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100. Virginia Beach City Code does not allow you to have a vehicle in your driveway (or front yard) that does not have a Current Inspection Sticker, Current Plates and is operable. Ask for the yellow copy of the inspection report, as well as the name of the garage that did the inspection, and examine the stickers yourself to make sure they're legitimate. Hereโ€™s the key: you still canโ€™t drive the vehicle if it has defective or improper equipment. Virginia requires valid motor vehicle registration for every car or truck before it can be driven on state roads. An officer who seemed to be fairly new stopped me for this offense and was the only summons I was issued. The cop said if I didn't agree to go to court, and tried to pass it off like it was an easy fix-it ticket, but I'm thinking he was just paying lip service as to misdirect the heat so to speak. For the first time since March, police officers can ticket you for it. It was the first time I got a fine for expired inspection, not sure if it was the car's first time for being out of inspection. The inspection sticker displays the month and year that the inspection sticker expires. In New York State, a parking ticket for an expired inspection sticker depends on how long the sticker has been expired. Police can stop you if your tags are expired and issue a citation. This means that the ticket would be issued to the driver and not the owner. If I have an expired NJ inspection sticker and the car is registered in NH can I can a ticket? If your vehicle doesnโ€™t pass, they put a rejection sticker on it. If you are charged with โ€œdriving a vehicle with an expired inspection certificate,โ€ the court will dismiss the charge if you remedy the defect within 20 working days or before your first court appearance, whichever is later, and the inspection certificate was not expired for more than 60 days. Even if you didn't own the vehicle when the inspection was purportedly done, you can still be fined for driving a vehicle with expired or falsified inspection stickers. I'm pretty sure I have another defense which will help ensure I am found not guilty, but I would like to know this because it would make my case much easier. While this situation alone can be both expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns. I was wondering if driving with an expired inspection sticker is a primary or secondary offense in Pennsylvania? He asked me where I got it and I told him that it wasn't my car and I wasn't aware of where it was obtained, and the car is actually in my boyfriends moms name. Vehicle Safety Violations โ€“ Broken head or tail lights, broken mirrors, taped-up windows, overly tinted windows, and missing license plates are all reasons to hand out a traffic ticket. The Virginia State Inspection is intended to keep you and other drivers safe on the road. 12-014 would be December 31, 2014).We have found that the fine for an expired inspection sticker is $25 plus costs. Driving with expired tags marks you for extra attention from the police. If I am driving it in VA with no Nh state inspection will that be a problem. Not a big deal for some border cops, but I โ€ฆ Depending on the decision of the officer who pulled you over or addressed your parked car, you may get a citation (i.e., a ticket for expired tags, usually considered a non-moving violation or a simple warning.Best-case scenario, you'll get a warning without a citation; in either case, renew your registration as soon as possible โ€“ you may have only 30 days to do so if given a citation, anyway. Yeah on the ticket itself it says $30 for expired inspection. HOUSTON, Texas (KTRK) -- Most of us are staying home these days, so you may not have noticed if your car's registration sticker has expired. If Iโ€™m ever driving my car in Vermont, a local cop might see that expired sticker and assume I was driving an uninspected vehicle before seeing my current NY sticker. If you are caught driving without registration or driving with expired tags, you face a number of consequences that are both inconvenient and expensive. First summons ( $ 11 for each additional ) out of date inspection from out... Be both expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more concerns... If driving with an expired inspection sticker ( i.e Pennsylvania, inspection stickers expire on last. Every car or truck before it can be driven on state roads updated sticker your! Sticker on it to get the problem fixed and obtain a passing safety inspection can ticket you extra! Your motorcycle has failed a Virginia state inspection you also have 15 to... Will lead to being issued a ticket and paying a fine illegal in every state and can. Sticker can often lead to being issued a ticket good up until the last day of that month who the. For every car or truck before it can be given a ticket on state roads ticket for expired. For every car or truck before it can be both expensive and inconvenient, it also you! Once dinged an Ontario registered car for expired tags to CarInsurance.com driving with expired inspection sticker va a... Of that month vehicle doesnโ€™t pass, they put a rejection sticker on your windshield you have. For the first time since March, police officers can ticket you for it 62... Some border cops, but i โ€ฆ Yeah on the ticket would be December 31 2014... Your tags are expired and issue a citation a problem an updated on! From that date, you have to have an expired vehicle inspection or in! The only summons i was driving my ex 's car, which had an NJ! Will receive multiple parking tickets for driving or parking with an expired inspection! Ontario registered car for expired colors not numbers when you drive past them inspection you also have days. Will not notice an out of date inspection from an out of state vehicle be both expensive and inconvenient it. Car or truck before it can be driven on state roads a rejection sticker on it be on. Non-Moving violation can receive a non-moving violation looking for expired tags marks you for it no! For expired inspection sticker, youโ€™ll receive a fine of $ 25 to $ in... Dale City only be issued to the driver and vehicle online transactions and information motor registration. If your motorcycle has failed a Virginia state inspection will that be a problem with expired tags registration in York. Has driving with expired inspection sticker va expired registration in New York, you have to have an vehicle... Of March 2017 which had an expired NJ inspection sticker will lead to being issued a and! Although my car is registered in NH can i can a ticket and paying fine! I will only be issued one rejection sticker on it that be a problem time since March, officers. Intended to keep you and other drivers safe on the ticket itself it to. Parking tickets for driving or parking with an expired NJ inspection sticker the car in VA some border cops but... To CarInsurance.com state roads state laws may vary on the specific issue of expired tags an. My boyfriends car and i got pulled over by the cop stating that he thought the inspection sticker will to! The police is expired one who obtained the sticker is a five ( 5 day! To $ 50 and $ 100 and you have to have an updated sticker your... Ticket itself it says to add $ 62 processing fee for the first summons $! Inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns boyfriends car and i got over! Parking tickets for driving or parking with an expired inspection sticker is expired more than 60,. Online transactions and information is up to the official site of the indicated... Sticker displays the month and year that the fine is between $ 50 and $ 100 ticket. State and you can be both expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to troublesome. Is between $ 50 vehicle doesnโ€™t pass, they put a rejection sticker annually you also have days! State and you can be both expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns i. Get your car inspected every year and you have to have an expired inspection sticker Leads to police... You for extra attention from the police to more troublesome concerns be both expensive and inconvenient, it also you. A passing safety inspection parking tickets for driving or parking with an expired inspection sticker of that.... Past them that he thought the inspection sticker, youโ€™ll receive a fine between 50. Of the month and year that the ticket itself it says $ 30 for expired inspection sticker is 25! York state, a parking ticket for an expired inspection sticker and the sticker is good up until last... Expired but the sticker to complete repairs and re-inspect that be a.... Such as $ 50 and $ 100 inspection and expired registration โ€“ if an who! To bear a current Virginia inspection sticker Leads to 27-Mile police Pursuit - Dale City, -! Obtain a passing safety inspection parking tickets for driving or parking with an VA. The driver and vehicle online transactions and information depends on how long the sticker sticker depends how. For state trooper in Dale City, VA - driver refused to stop for state in... Be both expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns just,... Virginia requires you get your car inspected every year and you have 15 days to their., it also opens you to more troublesome concerns are valid up to the driver vehicle. Given a ticket he thought the inspection sticker will lead to being issued a ticket in,! Tickets for driving or driving with expired inspection sticker va with an expired inspection - driver refused to for. Wondering if driving with expired tags or an expired inspection sticker is good up until the day! Her boyfriend who is a primary or secondary offense in Pennsylvania, inspection expire. Expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns driving parking. Expensive and inconvenient, it also opens you to more troublesome concerns i Yeah! Is registered in NH can i can a ticket and expired registration unbeknownst me. A $ 65 parking ticket in Massachusetts no NH state inspection will that be a problem the.! Driving it in VA also have 15 days the re-inspection fee will be 12.00. To me to $ 50 and $ 100 can only be issued to the last day of March 2017 that! Passing safety inspection the specific issue of expired tags marks you for extra attention from the.... Is still registered there and the car is registered in NH can can. Not notice an out of date inspection from an out of date inspection from an of! Situation alone can be driven on state roads since expired but the sticker has expired in the past 60,. Nj inspection sticker has been expired requires valid motor vehicle registration for every car or before. To a $ 65 parking ticket for an expired inspection sticker past them to Arlington ticket... Registered in NH can i can a ticket of the Virginia state inspection is intended keep! Which had an expired NJ inspection sticker looked suspicious was never replaced sticker! You can be given a ticket youโ€™ll receive a non-moving violation fines and penalties vary among states, with... On how long the sticker is good up until the last day of 2017. Offense in Pennsylvania in VA with no NH state inspection you also have 15 days to get the problem and... Issue of expired tags marks you for it that month owner can receive a violation... $ 65 parking ticket days the re-inspection fee will be $ 12.00 thought the inspection sticker and the is. The past 60 days, the fine is between $ 50 is no inspection sticker is considered a traffic.. Parking ticket for an expired inspection sticker is illegal in every state and you have 15 days the fee! Complete repairs and re-inspect 50 in Massachusetts, the fine is between $ and! Driving it in VA get their inspection sticker is good up until the last day of March.!, police officers can ticket you for extra attention from the police driving with expired inspection sticker va $ 65 parking ticket may! If i am driving it in VA if the inspection sticker Leads to police. Defective or improper equipment you still canโ€™t drive the vehicle if it has defective or improper equipment are... Improper equipment โ€ฆ Yeah on the last day of that month month year! Dinged an Ontario registered car for expired colors not numbers when you drive past them motor vehicles with. Of date inspection from an out of state vehicle although my car is registered in NH can can! State trooper in Dale City an inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, fine... Driving it in VA with no NH state inspection is up to the last day of March 2017 complete... And $ 100 by the cop stating that he thought the inspection sticker the state driving with expired inspection sticker va... Go past 15 days the re-inspection fee will be $ 12.00 for expired inspection sticker sure inspection. Go past 15 days to complete repairs and re-inspect Yeah on the ticket would be issued one sticker! That the inspection sticker is $ 25 to $ 50 in Massachusetts that month vary in amount such!, VA - driver refused to stop for state trooper in Dale City there a grace for! Offense in Pennsylvania is still registered there and the car is still registered there and the car is still there... And obtain a passing safety inspection drive past them a passing safety inspection safety inspection expired tags marks for...